Prince Harry Is Not Just the Duke of Sussex but Holds Two More Royal Titles

Prince Harry Is Not Just the Duke of Sussex but Holds Two More Royal Titles

The entire world knows Prince Harry, the youngest of King Charles, as the Duke of Sussex. Although all his financial ties are cut from the UK monarchy, this inherited title of the estranged Prince serves as his only official identity. However, that is not all. Being a part of the UK Monarchy, the Duke of Sussex has an official right over two other major titles that we were not aware of. 

As reported by the in 2018, Prince Harry and Meghan Markle’s official announcement read that the Prince Henry of Wales’ titles will be the Duke of Sussex, Earl of Dumbarton, and Baron Kilkeel. They announced the same on the royal website on the 19th of May 2018, following their grand marriage in the St. George’s Chapel. 

Prince Harry
Credits: Imago

Prince Harry’s Irish title, The Earl of Dumbarton, refers to Dumbarton in the area of West Dunbartonshire, Scotland. The title holds special importance to the sovereigns as it was created twice, once as a hereditary title from Scotland and another as the nobility from the United Kingdom in 2018.

Likewise, the title Baron Kilkeel is a title in the Peerage of the United Kingdom. Named after the small fishing port of Kilkeel, County Down, this is also one of the barely known titles of Prince Harry.

ALSO READ: With No Balcony View to No Involvement in Processions, Prince Harry and Meghan Are to Take Backseat in the Coronation

Why does Prince Harry have multiple titles? 

It has been an age-old tradition followed by the Monarchs to confer a dukedom to senior male members of the royal family as a wedding gift. Recently created by the late Queen herself, the other two served as the “subsidiary titles” for her grandson Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex. The same apparently was also gifted to the Duke, on the occasion of his marriage to Meghan Markle.

Prince Harry and Meghan Markle
Credits: Imago

It is also the reason why Prince William and Kate Middleton became the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge only upon their marriage and were promoted to higher ranks following the rules of succession.

The royal press release also confirmed that the Duke will also be referred to as His Royal Highness, like the other senior members of the royal family. Nonetheless, his Wales designation, along with the HRH titles, was also soon revoked following the infamous Megxit.

What is your opinion about the same? Were you aware of it before? Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *